Folasade Ogunsola as Acting Vice-Chancellor

The Board of Directors of the University of Lagos (UNILAG) has ratified the appointment of Prof. Folasade Ogunsola as Acting Vice-Chancellor.

Her appointment was ratified during a virtual committee meeting yesterday by the Council, chaired by Dr. John Momoh, who was appointed as interim Chairman of the Governing Council on Monday.

On Monday, Ogunsola was elected by the Senate of the University, following the Federal Government ‘s Directive on Vice-Chancellor Prof. Oluwatoyin Ogundipe, and the former President of the Council, Dr. Wale Babalakin, should step aside while a Special Visitation Panel is set up to examine the affairs of the university.

Dr. Momoh, who is also the National President of UNILAG Alumni Association, was directed to convene an emergency meeting to ratify Ogunsola’s nomination and submit a report on the meeting immediately.

Also read:  UNILAG Senate withdraws suit against Ogundipe, others

The Nation gathered that the National Universities Commission (NUC) had been directed by the Federal Ministry of Education to prepare for the inauguration, while it communicated the same to the Registrar, Oladejo Azeez.

The members of the panel are: Prof. Tukur Sa’ad (Chairman), Mr. Victor Onuoha, Prof. Ikenna Onyido, Prof. Ekanem Braide, Prof. Adamu Usman, Chief Jimoh Bankole, and Mrs. Grace Ekanem.

Folasade Ogunsola, a Professor of Clinical Microbiology, is the first woman in the history of the 58-year-old institution to occupy the exalted position.

The 62-year-old, who was until her appointment the Deputy Vice Chancellor (Development Services), competed against the Deputy Vice Chancellor (Management Sciences), Prof. Ben Oghojafor, for the position.

Also read:  See Wale Babalakin Resignation letter as UNILAG Pro-Chancellor

The Nation also learnt last night that six of the 14 members boycotted the Council meeting, including Azeez, who also failed to carry out the Federal Government’s directives to facilitate the Senate and Council meetings.

Others not at the meeting are: Mr. Bayo Adarelegbe, who works in Dr. Wale Babalakin’s chambers; Rev. Yomi Kasali, Dr. Saminu Dagai, who headed a sub-committee to examine  the university’s finances since 2017; Alhaji Alli Hussein, and Oluwarotimi Shodimu, a former Registrar of the university.

9jatalks School News


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here